TL;DR
Get workout gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Neko Health says it plans to open a second Manhattan clinic at Brookfield Place in January and a Miami location by the end of the year, with San Francisco and Washington, D.C., in the pipeline. The company reports that its U.S. waitlist has surpassed 50,000, but it has not released U.S. repeat-booking figures or a schedule for every planned location.
Neko Health plans to expand beyond its first U.S. clinic in New York, with a second Manhattan site at Brookfield Place planned for January and a Miami clinic due by the end of the year, according to a report by Athletech News. The company says its U.S. waitlist has grown to more than 50,000, making the expansion an early test of demand for paid, clinic-based preventive scans.
The company’s first U.S. clinic opened in SoHo last month, according to Athletech News. Before opening, more than 25,000 New Yorkers had joined the waitlist; Neko said the figure more than doubled to over 50,000 within two weeks. The report also names San Francisco and Washington, D.C., as locations in the pipeline, but does not give opening dates for either city.
Neko’s scan costs $499 and is described as noninvasive and radiation-free. The visit includes skin imaging using visible light, infrared thermal imaging and depth sensing, along with blood pressure, body composition, heart and grip-strength measurements, an eye-pressure test and a blood panel covering 53 biomarkers. Members review results with a clinician during a visit that the company says takes about an hour.
Neko says the scan can flag moles for closer assessment and signs associated with coronary artery disease, but it is not a diagnosis. It does not image internal organs and does not screen for breast, colon, lung, prostate or most other cancers. Athletech News reports that members needing follow-up can be referred to partner providers in New York or to their own doctors. The company accepts HSA and FSA payments.
A New Test for Paid Preventive Care
The expansion will show whether interest in Neko’s New York launch can support a multi-city clinic network. The model asks customers to pay out of pocket for a broad set of measurements and a clinician discussion in one visit, rather than relying only on appointments arranged through conventional care. That may appeal to people seeking a more structured health check, but it does not replace routine care or established screening programs.
The reported waitlist is a signal of interest, not proof that tens of thousands of people will book or complete scans. The company has not published U.S. rebooking rates. Its figures from Sweden and the United Kingdom—where Neko says more than 100,000 people have been scanned—cannot establish how American customers will respond.
The development also arrives amid reported consumer interest in wellness and dissatisfaction with health care affordability. Those trends offer context, but they do not establish why individuals joined Neko’s list or whether the service will be affordable to a broad range of customers. At $499 per scan, the price remains a meaningful out-of-pocket cost for many households.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From SoHo Launch to More Cities
Neko Health was co-founded by Spotify co-founder Daniel Ek and chief executive Hjalmar Nilsonne. Its U.S. expansion follows a reported $700 million Series C led by Lightspeed Venture Partners and co-led by O.G. Venture Partners. Athletech News said Mark Zuckerberg and other technology and celebrity investors also participated.
The service differs from whole-body MRI businesses such as Prenuvo: Neko says its scan does not create images of internal organs. Its stated focus is cardiometabolic health and skin assessment, supplemented by measurements and bloodwork. That distinction matters because customers should not interpret the scan as a comprehensive cancer screen or as a substitute for clinician-directed tests.
Other businesses are also selling health and longevity services outside traditional clinics. Athletech News points to Life Time’s Miora clinics and blood-testing offers from wearable company Whoop, among other examples. Neko’s stated proposition is to combine screening measures, lab results and a clinician review at one location, though the source does not provide comparative clinical-outcome data.
““What we’ve seen is unmistakable: when people can see their health clearly and know what to do about it, they get healthier.””
— Hjalmar Nilsonne, Neko Health co-founder and CEO, as quoted when the New York clinic opened
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Dates, Demand and Clinical Limits
The report does not specify the calendar year for the planned January opening or the year-end Miami target, and it gives no exact opening schedule for San Francisco or Washington, D.C. It is also unclear whether the plans depend on permits, staffing or other milestones not described in the report.
Neko has not shared U.S. figures for completed appointments, cancellations or repeat bookings. Its reported rebooking rates in Sweden and the U.K. are company-provided and may not predict U.S. customer behavior. The source also provides no independent assessment of the scan’s diagnostic performance or evidence that it improves health outcomes.
The scan’s scope is limited: it cannot rule out coronary artery disease, does not image internal organs and does not cover most cancers. Customers may still need standard screening and follow-up with their own health professionals. The company’s reported waitlist and service description do not answer how often scans produce findings that require additional care.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Clinic Openings and U.S. Results
The next stated milestones are the Miami clinic by year-end and the second Manhattan site at Brookfield Place in January. Neko has also identified San Francisco and Washington, D.C., for future expansion, without giving dates. Further company announcements would be needed to confirm opening schedules and whether all planned sites proceed.
Readers will also be able to judge demand more clearly if Neko reports U.S. bookings, completed scans and repeat-visit rates. For now, the company’s waitlist figure indicates stated interest, while the pace of clinic openings and the service’s longer-term role in preventive care remain to be seen.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Where is Neko Health expanding in the United States?
Neko plans a second Manhattan clinic at Brookfield Place in January and a Miami location by the end of the year. It has also named San Francisco and Washington, D.C., as locations in the pipeline, without dates.
How much does a Neko Health scan cost?
The scan is priced at $499, according to the source report. Neko accepts HSA and FSA payments.
Does the scan screen for all cancers or image internal organs?
No. Neko says its scan does not image internal organs and does not screen for breast, colon, lung, prostate or most other cancers. It is not a substitute for recommended screening or medical care.
How large is Neko Health’s U.S. waitlist?
Neko says the U.S. waitlist has topped 50,000. The company has not reported how many people on the list have completed a scan or shared U.S. repeat-booking figures.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
