TL;DR
Get workout gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Kivo Health raised $10 million in a Series A round led by Allumia Ventures, bringing its total financing to $16 million. The Seattle company says it will use the money to expand its virtual home-care program nationwide and aims to reach tens of thousands of patients within two years.
Kivo Health, a Seattle-based provider of virtual home care for chronic lung disease, raised $10 million in Series A financing, the company’s latest funding round, according to Home Health Care News. The company said the investment will support nationwide expansion; it brings Kivo’s total financing to $16 million.
Allumia Ventures led the round, with participation from Corewell Health Ventures, Y Combinator, Heuristic Capital and MassMutual Ventures, Home Health Care News reported. Kivo’s service currently focuses on chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and combines technology used at home with individual care plans and remote support from respiratory therapists.
According to the company’s website, enrolled patients receive a home kit that includes a tablet, oxygen monitor and exercise bands. They meet virtually with a respiratory therapist to review symptoms and develop a plan, then take part in small-group sessions twice a week for nine weeks. The sessions cover breathing techniques, targeted exercises and resources for managing COPD.
Co-founder and CEO Victor Sadauskas told Home Health Care News that Kivo had delivered “tens of thousands of sessions” and provided care to thousands of patients. He said the company plans to expand nationwide and serve tens of thousands of patients over the next two years. Kivo also says its program is covered by Medicare, Medicaid and several private health plans, including UnitedHealthcare, Humana, Blue Cross, Aetna and Priority Health.
Funding Backs a Wider Care Reach
The financing gives Kivo capital to pursue broader access to a model that provides remote support between clinical visits. For patients with COPD, the program is designed to offer coaching, exercises and symptom-management resources at home, while health plans and care providers may be interested in whether that support can reduce costly acute care.
Kivo says its program reduces total health-care spending by $8,245 per member per year, attributing the claimed savings to fewer hospitalizations, emergency-room visits and nursing-home days. That figure is a company claim; the report does not provide the methodology, study period, comparison group or independent validation. The funding announcement does not itself establish that the program produces those savings across patient populations.
The company also plans to adapt its care model for other high-cost chronic illnesses. That ambition could broaden the service beyond COPD, but Kivo has not specified which conditions it would target or when those programs might launch.
Products Worth Considering

Levoit Eleva 300X HEPA Air Purifier for Home and Bedroom

Fitbit Versa Smart Watch – Black Aluminum, One Size (S & L Bands Included)

Fitbit Sense Advanced Smartwatch – Sage Grey/Silver (One Size, S & L Bands Included)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Kivo’s Home Program Works
Kivo’s current care model is organized around a nine-week virtual program. Patients use the supplied equipment at home and receive therapist guidance in scheduled group sessions. The approach is intended to help people manage COPD outside of in-person appointments, rather than replace the clinical care they receive from their existing providers.
The company’s reported funding total now stands at $16 million, including the new Series A. Its reported payer coverage spans public programs and commercial insurers, though the source does not specify the terms of those arrangements or how many eligible members can access the program in each plan.
“We have delivered tens of thousands of sessions, providing thousands of patients access to care that improves symptoms and saves health plans money by reducing unnecessary hospitalizations, ER visits and nursing home days.”
— Victor Sadauskas, Kivo Health co-founder and CEO, in an email to Home Health Care News
Expansion Plans and Savings Evidence
The company has not disclosed a detailed rollout schedule, the markets it will enter first, or how the $10 million will be allocated. It is also not clear how many patients are currently enrolled, how Kivo defines the “tens of thousands” of sessions it cites, or what proportion of patients complete the program.
The reported annual savings of $8,245 per member is presented as Kivo’s claim. The source report does not include an independent analysis or details on the calculation, and it does not establish that every participating patient or health plan will see the same result. The timing and scope of any expansion to additional chronic conditions also remain unspecified.
Nationwide Growth Over Two Years
Kivo says its next priority is to expand its service nationally, with a goal of reaching tens of thousands of patients within two years. The company has not announced a market-by-market timetable or additional operational milestones. Its progress may depend on recruiting care teams, establishing access through health plans and enrolling eligible patients.
The company has also said it intends to extend its model to other high-cost chronic illnesses. No conditions, launch dates or program details have been announced, so the immediate focus remains its existing COPD care program.
Key Questions
How much funding did Kivo Health raise?
Kivo raised $10 million in Series A financing, bringing its reported total financing to $16 million.
Who led the funding round?
Allumia Ventures led the round. Corewell Health Ventures, Y Combinator, Heuristic Capital and MassMutual Ventures also participated, according to Home Health Care News.
What does Kivo Health’s program provide?
Kivo’s COPD program includes a home kit with a tablet, oxygen monitor and exercise bands, plus virtual respiratory-therapist assessments and twice-weekly group sessions for nine weeks, according to the company’s website.
What will Kivo do with the new funding?
The company said it plans to use the financing to expand nationwide. It has not released a detailed spending breakdown or rollout schedule.
Are Kivo’s claimed health-care savings independently confirmed?
The source report attributes the claim of $8,245 in annual savings per member to Kivo. It does not provide independent validation or the underlying calculation, so the figure should be treated as a company claim.
Source: homehealthcarenews.com
